h1

Relying on ReliOn

May

Glucose Tabs

Too easy of a title, I know… but the glucose tabs ReliOn makes have found their way into my life and I’m lovin’ them so far.

I previously didn’t understand the need for glucose tabs. I mean… come on. Why pop boring old sugar tabs when you can splurg on a little soda or candy? I have found out the answer to my own question.

Reliability and reproducability(a term drilled into my head during chemistry). Each glucose tab holds 4 grams of fast acting glucose. That means, a precise amount of fast acting sugar makes it happy way into the bloodstream—fast. It takes away the need to track down a soda or food and then portion out that food or drink.

I usually need no more than two tabs at a time. Sometimes, just one helps bring up the blood sugar just the right amount. It is nice, also, when I am headed to bed and my number is a little low. I can pop a tab and be confident I will wake up in range. No need to run to the fridge which inevitably leads to overeating and high blood sugar all night.

Glucose tabs… cheap and efficient. Go figure.

6 comments

  1. I was diagnosed in 1974. They didn’t have glucose tabs then. The standard treatment was to “eat a candybar”. Without blood glucose monitoring, we just had go guess if we were low or not – didn’t have the numbers to confirm it, or, if so, how far down.
    Years later, when I


  2. (part 2 – sorry)
    Years later, when I began testing my blood, I realized that my bg has a very slow response to chocolate – a joke of a treatment for hypoglycemia.
    Responsible self-care currently required a lot of attention to detail and constant decision making – but I am thankful for my meter, the numbers, and those dorky sour chalk glucose tabs.


  3. And they have some great flavors too!

    I remember using sugar cubes back in the “old days”!


  4. My comment is a bit late, but just stumbled upon your blog here. You should know that the Reli-On glucose/dextrose tablets are made by two different manufacturers. Catch my blog posting for more details on that.


  5. The Dex4 people are meant to be coming out with a new liquid correction that isn’t a gel. I recently completed a discussion group evaluating how best to describe that.

    Personally I don’t like the texture of the tablets. They’re tough on the back of my throat and the dust is just terrible (though I don’t get that too often). I suggested they look at coating it slightly to improve the mouth feel of it.


  6. I am a type 1 diabetic, and this is the best , cheapest, product that I have found in the two and one half years with diabetes. Recently I was put in a position financially and I was just wondering if there is any way that I could recieve some donations of test strips while I get back on my feet. I have had to go to the ER more than 3 times in the past 2 weeks just for my sugar, and I haven’t been able to check it lately. I know that it’s very important that I monitor my sugar, but there really isn’t many places that are willing to help. So this is sort of a last resort. Anything would be appreciated. Just contact me at my E-Mail address BOBBYLEE85@yahoo.com Thank you and God Bless.



Leave a Reply

