h1

The Elusive Pumps

September

It finally happened. All the hard-nosed looking, the squinted eye peering, and allllll the unwelcome staring has brought success. And this time, it was right in front of my nose.

While out to lunch at Todai seafood restaurant, I saw a little girl of about 7 yrs. old with an insulin pump. I had yet to that day actually seen a pump in function on someone, whether young or old. She had a dress on with shoulder straps… and clipped to the back towards her neck was this little pump. Spindled down into the clothing went the tube, undoubtedly secured to her stomach somewhere. I am pretty sure that is the preferred absorption location for children and most adults alike.

It was kind of surreal. I wanted to stand up and make everyone notice, after I did, what they were missing. Her large family sat around their table very plainly. She fiddled with silverware on the table and kept occupied, as kids do. And all the while, pump…pump…pump went the insulin. Amazing how common place it must seem in her family. As if an extension of the young one, always there and always accounted for.

I still look forward to seeing someone my age or about with their pump on. Will I walk up to them and open conversation? Should I ask questions to get live and in color insight into my pumping future? Are there any others left besides this child? I imagine so… just proves once again how invisible diabetes can be.

4 comments

  1. When we were getting set up to get Brendon on the pump, we were at the beach where I saw a teenage girl wearing a bikini. I saw something on her stomach and realized it was an infusion set.

    I wanted to approach her and ask her about it, but knowing how teens tend to become self conscious, I didn’t want her knowing that it was noticeable (of course I’m sure she realized it would be).

    I always look forward to seeing people with diabetes equipment and usually keep my eye out at restaurants.


  2. So you work with Nicole, Kerri and George – that must be fun! I just found out about yur blog….I have NEVER seen any other person with a pump. I KNOW what I would do – definitely go up and TALK to them! However I am a bit of an unreserved person! Once in Stockholm, Sweden I saw a person with a t-shirt that said NANTUCKET – my favoirtie place in the whole wide world! So I immediately ran up to her and said – “Don’t you just LOVE Nanatucket! Don’t you wish you were there this minute!” She looked at me like I was totally crazy, which perhaps I am! She had NEVER EVEN BEEN THERE! For heavens sake why was she wearing that T-shirt.


  3. I was officially diagnosed with type 1 diabetes in February 2005 when I was 29. I got my pump in May 2006 and I can’t imagine lfe without it. It isn’t foolproof but it is s godsend compared to shots. If you have any questions, feel free to email me. People rarely notice it (usually put it in my pocket) and if they do who cares :) It’s cool when you know people with pumps and you can talk about it with them- really refreshing and doesn’t make you feel like you are the only one dealing it. Much like a blog I assume. Best of luck to you!


  4. I saw someone on the bus to campus and I just had to ask her about her pump. I’d never met anyone else with Type 1 Diabetes and I just had to introduce myself. She was wonderful and asked all of my questions. It was so cool talking to someone my age with diabets. If you run into someone your age I’d say go for it.



Leave a Reply

